Simulation

Structural simulation is at the heart of modern lightweight engineering. Our component design philosophy is characterized by the tailoring of materials to component loading scenarios, the optimum exploitation of specific material properties and full consideration of economic and manufacturing-related aspects.

Component development is generally an iterative process and necessitates a comprehensive understanding of not only the load-bearing capacity and failure behaviour of the materials used, but also extensive know-how in the various disciplines of structural mechanics.

Structural analysis and material modelling at LZS

Services_Theme_Simulation_01

 In the case of modern composite materials used in structures exposed to complex loading scenarios in particular, it is only with the aid of simulation that a sufficient understanding of structural behaviour can be gained and used as a basis for the development of an effective, efficient design strategy.

On the one hand, the application of the multi-scale modelling concept developed at TU Dresden enables LZS to minimize the computational effort invested in the design process by only drilling down to the level of detail actually required in order to solve the problem at hand. On the other, it makes it possible to increase the amount of simulation-generated material loading data by analyzing the material architecture at a higher resolution.

Our areas of expertise

Structural calculations

  • Component development with the aid of simulative preliminary or detailed designs
  • Comparisons between various options
  • Parameter optimization

Material modelling

  • Determination of material properties using virtual testing
  • Material card calibration
  • Development of user-defined material models

Strength assessments

  • Development / refinement of verification concepts
  • Verification management in accordance with valid norms

Method development

  • Development of analytical and design-related tools for specific classes of problems
Dr.-Ing. Matthias Berner

Contact person

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Berner

+49 351 463 42617
berner@lzs-dd.de
Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Freund

Contact person

Dr.-Ing. Andreas Freund

+49 351 463 42614
freund@lzs-dd.de

Simulation

Die Struktursimulation ist der Kern des modernen Leichtbaus. Unsere Philosophie der Bauteilauslegung ist geprägt von der Idee, Materialien unter Berücksichtigung wirtschaftlicher und fertigungstechnischer Aspekte beanspruchungsgerecht und unter optimaler Ausnutzung ihrer spezifischen Eigenschaften einzusetzen.

Der meist iterative Prozess der Bauteilentwicklung erfordert dabei ein tiefgreifendes Verständnis des Trag- und Versagensverhaltens der eingesetzten Werkstoffe und umfassendes Know-how in den verschiedenen Disziplinen der Strukturmechanik.

Strukturanalyse und Materialmodellierung am LZS

leistungen_nach_themen_simulation_01

Insbesondere bei der Verwendung moderner Verbundmaterialien in komplex belasteten Konstruktionen, gelingt es erst mit Hilfe der Simulation, das erforderliche Verständnis des Strukturverhaltens zu erreichen, um eine dementsprechend effiziente Auslegungsstrategie zu entwickeln.

Die Umsetzung des an der TU Dresden entwickelten Multiskalen-Modellierungsansatzes erlaubt es dem LZS, den Berechnungsaufwand im Auslegungsprozess durch Nutzung des problemspezifisch erforderlichen Detaillierungsgrades zu minimieren oder den Informationsgehalt der Simulation hinsichtlich Materialauslastung durch detaillierte Auflösung der Werkstoffarchitektur zu erhöhen.

Unsere Kompetenzen

Strukturberechnung

  • Bauteilentwicklung durch simulative Vor- oder Detailauslegungen
  • Umsetzung von Variantenstudien
  • Parameteroptimierung

Materialmodellierung

  • Kennwertermittlung durch virtuelles Testen
  • Materialkartenkalibrierung
  • Entwicklung nutzerdefinierter Materialmodelle

Festigkeitsbewertung

  • Entwicklung / Weiterentwicklung von Nachweiskonzepten
  • Nachweisführung gemäß geltenden Normen

Methodenentwicklung

  • Entwicklung problemklassenspezifischer Auswerte- und Auslegetools
Dr.-Ing. Matthias Berner

Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Berner

+49 351 463 42617
berner@lzs-dd.de
Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Freund

Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Andreas Freund

+49 351 463 42614
freund@lzs-dd.de